In 2014, WIPB-TV and Indiana Public Radio (IPR) were reorganized, and on March 11, 2015 the IPR Advisory Council recognized the synergy between the broadcast stations and adopted new bylaws to support the change. The Council represents Indiana Public Radio: WBST Muncie, WBSB Anderson, WBSH Hagerstown/New Castle, and WBSW Marion, and now also represents WIPB Public Television: WIPB-HD, WIPB2, and WIPB3 Weather.

The Advisory Council Members serve as the Ambassadors for both stations while advising and assisting in matters of awareness and support of Public Broadcasting. While the Council does not act on specific matters of programming, management, operations, or policy, it does provide important input regarding the role of Public Broadcasting throughout the service area to station management. Council Members serve as advocates and spokespersons, assist in identifying prospects and in fundraising, identify and recruit volunteers, serve as local resources for community information and introductions, are financial supporters of one or both stations, and contribute to the overall success of the Advisory Council.


Advisory Council Meetings:

As a recipient of a Community Service Grant from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, WIPB-TV complies with Section 396(k)(5) of the Communications Act.


The IPR/WIPB-TV Advisory Council will hold its next meeting on Monday, December 2, 2019, at 5:30 p.m. in the Ball State University Alumni Center Board Room, 2800 W. Bethel Ave.

Upcoming meeting:  5:30 p.m. January 6, 2020, in the Ball State University Alumni Center Board Room, 2800 W. Bethel Ave.


Advisory Council Membership:

The Advisory Council represents the diverse interests of Indiana Public Radio and WIPB-TV, with three members offering perspectives from each of the following regional divisions:

Adams, Blackford, Jay, and Wells Counties Region;

Grant, Howard, Miami, Tipton, and Wabash Counties Region;

Hamilton, Hancock, Johnson, Madison, Marion, and Shelby Counties Region;

Delaware County Region;

Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Henry, Randolph, Rush, Union and Wayne Counties Region.

Council members are appointed for a term of three years and may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

The General Manager is an ex-officio member and officer of the Advisory Council. A designated station employee serves as Recording Secretary and is also an ex-officio member of the council and executive committee.


Executive Committee

Yvonne Thompson, Chairperson

John Dockery, Vice Chairperson

Kristiaan Rawlings, Secretary


Advisory Council Members

Brad Edmondson, Patricia Gibson, Sara Gullion, Bill Henry, Kylie Jackson, Darin Miller, Myra Smith, Michael Statler, Krystal Stanich and Lisa Weeks


Information: (765) 285-5888